Heat

I thought there would be more baking today, but a moratorium on such activities has been declared because of the sugar crashes caused by the icing for D’s cupcakes that were baked for Children in Need. This means that there are eleven bananas left, and I spent more time reading and knitting.

Tomorrow I will be returning the book Heat, by George Monbiot, to the library. It is intended to be a call to action to tackle global warming, by demonstrating how developed countries like the UK might cut their carbon dioxide emissions by 90% by 2030, without drastically changing the economy. It’s seven years old now, so the disconnect between what could have been done and what has been done is beginning to grow alarmingly noticeable.

I feel that at this point I should be learning survival skills, so that if civilisation regresses, if there is a “rapid simplification” in the state of trade and technology (as a Yale professor talking about the collapse of the Roman Empire put it), I will be able to make a reasonable effort to survive. My recent attempts to grow food have not been promising. Largely they have resulted in a well-fed population of slugs and our greenhouse was blown away by the St Jude’s storm.

On the other hand, I recognise that I have a tendency to catastrophise about minor mishaps, like chipped plates or unwashed dishes, so it might be that I am worrying too much. It would probably be better if we didn’t warm the planet, and things will certainly be difficult when Greenland and the West Antarctic Ice Sheet melt. However, since I cannot control other people, I can not prevent this from happening, and so I will just have to reconcile myself to this mistake being made. Fortunately, it will most likely take at least many decades for sea levels to rise to catastrophic levels, and so a decent night’s sleep is more important than a fruitless attempt to change closed minds.

Leave a Reply

